(Mission, Texas)-At Sharyland Pioneer High School, the Weslaco Panthers took a 18-14 lead with less than 4:00 minutes left to play but this did not stop the McAllen Nikki Rowe Warriors as sophomore quarterback Lance Salinas found WR Isaiah Mata open for the winning score to win 21-18. The Warriors celebrated their win by running onto the field as the whistle blew the final seconds off the clock. “You did it. You made this happen. You earned this win today,” said Rowe 7-on-7 head coach, David Salinas.

Also headed to the state tournament are San Benito and Sharyland. The Greyhounds defeated Mission Veterans 20-14 in the finals held at Patriots field while Sharyland defeated Laredo United South 26-21 to advance.

Twenty-Four teams competed on Saturday for three spots in the annual Texas State 7-on-7 Football Championships to be held at College Station on June 23-25th. Tournament organizer, Tony Guerrero was pleased with teams that attended this year’s event held at host sites in Mission Veterans Stadium, Pioneer HS Stadium, and Richard Thompson Stadium. The next Rio Grande Valley qualifier will be played at Bobby Lackey Stadium next Saturday featuring 16 teams with two qualifiers advancing from pool play.

Saturday’s Games

Texas State 7-on-7 RGV Qualifier Results

At Mission Veterans Memorial Field

Pool A

Mission Veterans 13 McAllen Mem 7

Laredo United 32 Laredo LBJ 21

Laredo LBJ 14, McAllen Memorial 9

Mission Veterans 27 Laredo United 20

Laredo United 32, McAllen Memorial 12

Mission Veterans 13, Laredo LBJ 13

Pool B

Mission High 49 Brownsville Porter 14

San Benito 28 EdElsa 25

San Benito 20 Mission 13

Edcouch-Elsa 28, Brownsville Porter 25

Edcouch-Elsa 35, Mission High 32

San Benito 21, Brownsville Porter 6

State Qualifier

San Benito 20 Mission Veterans 14

At Sharyland High-Richard Thompson Stadium

Pool A

Sharyland 13, Harlingen 7

Weslaco East 20, Laredo Alexander 18

Harlingen High 27 Weslaco East 7

Laredo Alexander 32 Sharyland 27

Harlingen High 18, Laredo Alexander 13

Sharyland High 32, Weslaco East 20

Pool B

PSJA High 38 La Joya 6

Laredo United South 19 Edinburg North 14

Laredo United South 19 La Joya 13

PSJA High 21, Edinburg North 14

Edinburg North 19, La Joya High 13

Laredo United South 26 Psja 21

State Qualifier

Sharyland High 26 Laredo United South 21

At Sharyland Pioneer Stadium

Pool A

Sharyland Pioneer 28, Brownsville Lopez 0

Weslaco High 20, PSJA North 13

Weslaco High 26, Brownsville Lopez 0

PSJA North 25, Sharyland Pioneer 7

PSJA North 32, Brownsville Lopez 0

Weslaco High 13, Sharyland Pioneer 7

Pool B

McAllen Rowe 21, LJ Palmview 12

Mercedes 26, PSJA Memorial 19

PSJA Memorial 20, La Joya Palmview 19

McAllen Rowe 25, Mercedes 20

Mercedes 27, La Joya Palmview 15

McAllen Rowe 21, PSJA Memorial 13

State Qualifier

McAllen Rowe 21 Weslaco 18